2015 – 2016

To view last terms news and events, please click here  Summer Term 2015

The Academic Year 2015 – 2016 marks Oak Hill’s tenth year. We opened on 6th October 2006 with just four children, who had previously been in the Hill Methodology Reading Achievement Programme. Including our current students, we have taught 92 students, attending 9 different International Schools and travelling to us here in Nyon, from as far away as Blonay to the east, Prevessin (in France) to the west and Hermance to the south.

The students who have left us have re-integrated into main-stream schools, both in Switzerland and abroad, with a high degree of success.  Not only are their academic skills strong enough to compete in classrooms alongside their peers, their confidence and self-esteem are such that, when they leave Oak Hill, they believe that they can achieve anything, if they put their minds to it.  Please take time to read some of our testimonials as our first students have undertaken IGCSE’s and equivalent and their results are outstanding.

The maximum group size is four students and we have a teaching staff of four. Our morning programme targets those children between  6 and 11 years old.  In addition we have a group of 12+ year-olds in the afternoon.

As our students are encouraged to take part in all the major events of their Home Schools, at Oak Hill we prefer not to spend too much class time pursuing other interests. Birthdays are an exception and every student’s birthday is celebrated with cake, candles, card and the traditional birthday gift of a Free Homework Pass. Being the centre of attention on their special day, helps our students feel confident and raises their self-esteem.

Oak Hill continues to offer Reading Achievement Programme (RAP), after school.  The sesssions  take place at Oakhill each Monday and Wednesday, 4pm until 5pm.  Students must be available to attend two sessions.   For further information, please contact  rita.waddell@oakhill.ch

Events

Thursday 23rd June – Oak Hill annual BBQ

Friday 17th June – New intake visit

Friday 27th May – Visit and observation from Learning Support department at La Chat.

Thursday 26th May 2016 – Open morning at Oak Hill

Tuesday 24th May – Visit to Oak Hill, Leonora Gecaj, Occupational Therapist.

Monday 23rd May – Team attending ASK Seminar ‘ADHD:Promoting Academic Success – Dr. George J. DuPaul.

Friday 20th May – Seminar for Teaching Assistants at Geneva English School – Rita Waddell

Wednesday 18th May – PGCE observation and training day at Oak Hill.

Tuesday 17th May 2016 – Oak Hill closed for staff training.

Tuesday 3rd May 2016 – Reading seminar for Learning Support Assistants at Oak Hill

Wednesday 27th April – Team attending ASK Seminar ‘Working Memory’, led by Jennie Guise.

Thursday 14th April 2016 – Reading siminar for Learning Support Assistants at Oak Hill led by Rita Waddell (rescheduled to the 3rd May)

Thursday 17th March 2016 – Open Morning at Oak Hill

Tuesday 15th March 2016 – Maths seminar at Oak Hill led by Ian Booth

Tuesday 1st March 2016 – Team to attend ASK seminar- Study Skills and Dyslexia led by Tilly Mortimore

Thursday 28th January – Open morning at Oak Hill.

Wednesday 27th January 2016 – visit from Haute-Lac teachers.

Tuesday 26th January 2016- Reading Seminar at Oak Hill led by Rita Waddell (rescheduled)

Thursday 21 January 2016 – Parent conferences

Wednesday 25th November 2015 – Interpreting educational psycholigist reports. Led by Sue Elliott, headteacher Oak Hill

Tuesday 24th November 2015 – Open Morning, Oak Hill

Thursday 12th November 2015 – ‘How dyslexics learn’ ASK

Thursday 24th September – Open Morning, Oak Hill

Monday 21st September – Jeune Federal Canton Vaud.

Monday 14th September - Oak Hill team inservice with Dr. Gavin Reid.